Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is what studying is all about yo….

Kickin it on the 5th floor of the HBLL

So I’ve decided that my blog is starting to become a little bit of a sporadic and random burst of ideas on a daily basis. There is so much to blog about in this world! I truly believe that every person has something happen to them each and every day that is worth writing about. It’s important to write.

Yesterday I was in a class and I overheard the disgusted voice of a girl exclaim, “I just finished reading 17 pages about the roles of fathers and mothers for my marriage prep class!” The disdain in her voice dripped from each word that she spoke. She was obviously seeking some sort of consolation from her friend. I had a good chuckle inside because I had 17 pages about the roles of fathers and mothers awaiting me for my evening reading. Ironic the difference in perspective. I was stoked to read those pages! I’m not marriage hungry, but I love understanding it on a deeper level. Actually, right now you could say I’m pretty far from it. I respect it, I look forward to it someday, and when that day comes I’ll embrace it. For now, I’ve got other things to work on. I just wanted to share with you the irony of perspective. What a difference seeing things from a higher perspective makes in your life. Lift your eyes!

Some things I enjoyed from my class reading and discussion:

“Marriage is deity in embryo”

Regarding Fathers:

“Fathers should give their all to bless their families, as Christ gave His all for the church.” “Your homes should be havens of peace and joy for your family. Surely no child should fear his own father- especially a priesthood father.” “A righteous husband and father will regularly seek counsel from his wife about how he is carrying out his responsibilities and how he can progress further.”

“After discussing the sublime relationship between Heavenly Father and His Son Jesus Christ, Elder Jeffrey R. Holland asked: “As a father, I wonder if I and all other fathers could do more to build a sweeter, stronger relationship with our own sons and daughters here on earth. Dads, is it too bold to hope that our children might have some small portion of the feeling for us that the Divine Son felt for His Father? Might we earn more of that love by trying to be more of what God was to His child?””

Regarding mothers:

“Motherhood is near to divinity. It is the highest, holiest service to be assumed by mankind. It places her who honor its holy calling and service next to the angels.”

“If one dishonors the commandments of God, one dishonors his mother, and if one dishonors his mother, one dishonors the commandments of God.” “One cannot forget mother and remember God. One cannot remember mother and forget God.”

OK OK… My friend Mac just found out what I’m blogging about and he gave me a “blah”. I am growing in this class and I am loving the truth that is being taught. I am starting to realize more and more as I get older how blessed I am to have the parents that I do. Sloppy Joe and Bonnie are really good examples of much of the above. Thanks!

